She Regrets Nothing by Andrea Dunlop | Book Review + GIVEAWAY

51ulC5YpqAL._SX322_BO1,204,203,200_

✽  ✽  ✽  ✽  ✽  ✽  ✽  ✽  ✽  ✽  ✽  ✽  ✽  ✽

Synopsis:

In the tradition of The Emperor’s Children and The House of Mirth,the forgotten granddaughter of one of New York’s wealthiest men is reunited with her family just as she comes of age—and once she’s had a glimpse of their glittering world, she refuses to let it go without a fight.

When Laila Lawrence becomes an orphan at twenty-three, the sudden loss unexpectedly introduces her to three glamorous cousins from New York who show up unannounced at her mother’s funeral. The three siblings are scions of the wealthy family from which Laila’s father had been estranged long before his own untimely demise ten years before.

Two years later, Laila has left behind her quiet life in Grosse Point, Michigan to move to New York City, landing her smack in the middle of her cousins’ decadent world. As the truth about why Laila’s parents became estranged from the family patriarch becomes clear, Laila grows ever more resolved to claim what’s rightfully hers. Caught between longing for the love of her family and her relentless pursuit of the lifestyle she feels she was unfairly denied, Laila finds herself reawakening a long dead family scandal—not to mention setting off several new ones—as she becomes further enmeshed in the lives and love affairs of her cousins. But will Laila ever, truly, belong in their world? Sly and sexy, She Regrets Nothing is a sharply observed and utterly seductive tale about family, fortune, and fate—and the dark side of wealth.

✽  ✽  ✽  ✽  ✽  ✽  ✽  ✽  ✽  ✽  ✽  ✽  ✽  ✽

She Regrets Nothing by Andrea Dunlop
My rating: 4 of 5 stars
➳Family drama, complications from the past. and new faces to be reacquainted with and get to know… That’s the kind of novel you expect from Andrea…


➳As a New Yorker, and as someone who has gained an understanding as to how people portray the whole aspect of being a New Yorker or new to said state and the city, I can rightfully say that this story was indeed on the right path towards leading to something outstanding. I was hesitant at first when getting to the ideal story plots and how Laila Lawrence, the main character, was brought into this world filled with power and wealth. One in which she had no idea she was a part of blood related until after her mother past away and was left as an orphan. To me I find that aspect of the story appealing in a sense of way that brings an unexpected twist later on throughout the story.


➳That’s when the drama starts to kick in to the twist. Once Laila is brought to the world of wealth and be part of a life that she did not see coming, she is encountered upon the the evolutions of sex, lies, blackmail, greediness, betrayal that erases any sort of aspect of loyalty to the table. To me I found this rather enticing in a way that I could envision everything happening in front of me. This novel would easily become a next time favorite TV show or movie of mine if the opportunity took place. What I did not find appealing was the whole revolving around the same topic. The characters are twenty something year olds and to me I found them very childish in a way that made me cringe for sure. But I got over it once the big plots and twist began to appear and enticed me for more of the story through every page.

➳Overall, this story filled with so many turning points has gotten a place in my shelf that can lead to so much more love towards the author. The writing style itself was just superb for sure. One in which I hope does not change because I am in love with the balance in the story plot that Andrea has provided. I am looking forward to her other books in which I hope to enjoy as well! Thank you to Andrea for giving me this chance at reading her novel, I will cherish it forever.


➳ARC kindly provided by author in exchange for an honest review…

➳Follow Me On:
BlogInstagramFacebookTwitter

✽  ✽  ✽  ✽  ✽  ✽  ✽  ✽  ✽  ✽  ✽  ✽  ✽  ✽

About Andrea:

Andrea Dunlop is an author and social media consultant based out of Seattle, WA with over a decade of experience in book publishing.

She began her career as an in-house publicist for Doubleday (Random House) where she worked with bestselling authors such as Tina Brown, Jonathan Lethem, Linda Fairstein, and many others.

After moving back to Seattle in 2009, she took over as publicity manager for Kim Ricketts Book Events promoting a wide range of cookbook and literary events with authors such as Laurie David, Rene Redzepi, and Steven Johnson. Next, she spent five years with editorial and book production firm Girl Friday Productions as their executive director of social media and marketing, working with both traditionally and self-published clients and spearheading the company’s marketing efforts.

In February 2016, Andrea released her debut novel, Losing the Light (Atria), and is currently working on a second novel for the publisher, due out in 2017. In addition to her writing and social media work, Andrea is an accomplished speaker and has presented at book and publishing conferences nationwide including The San Francisco Writers Conference, The Pacific Northwest Booksellers Association Conference, The Pacific Northwest Writers Association Conference, and many others.

✽  ✽  ✽  ✽  ✽  ✽  ✽  ✽  ✽  ✽  ✽  ✽  ✽  ✽

Enter below for a chance to win a copy of SHE REGRETS NOTHING:

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s